The Lir Quartet

The Lir Quartet

The Lir Quartet


Triskel Christchurch

Tobin Street


Sat 9 March 2019 - 1:10 pm


€16/13 (COS members: €12)

Presented in association with the National String Quartet Foundation
The Lir QuartetSiobhan Doyle, violin; Siun Milne, violin; Ed Creedon, viola; and Christopher Ellis, cello – return with a wonderfully contrasted programme of works by Britten and Mendelssohn.Buy tickets for Mary Hegarty and Gabriela Mayer

The Lir Quartet is comprised of four of Ireland’s finest young musicians who all performed at the inaugural Ortús Chamber Music Festival in 2016. Based between France, Germany and Ireland, its members enjoy busy careers as soloists, chamber musicians and orchestral players. All four members have previously been prize winners at the Clandeboye Festival Young Musicians’ Platform and this year were invited back to the festival to perform quartets by Ravel, Debussy and Faure. Each passionate about chamber music, they have had regular appearances at the West Cork Chamber Music Festival and all recently performed at the National Concert Hall ‘Chamber Music Gathering’ series.


Britten: String Quartet No.3 Op.94
Mendelssohn: String Quartet in D major Op.44 No.1

Siobhan Doyle, violin
Siun Milne, violin
Ed Creedon, viola
Christopher Ellis, cello


€16 (General admission) | €13 (Concessions)
€12 (COS members)

BRITTEN: String Quartet No.3 Op.94 [1975]

1. Duets. With moderate movement
2. Ostinato. Very fast
3. Solo. Very calm
4. Burlesque. Fast – con fuoco
5. Recitative and Passacaglia (La Serenissima). Slow

Britten’s last completed instrumental work was written in 1975 during his final illness, the first four movements at his home in Aldeburgh and the fifth at Hotel Danieli, Venice. Britten worked on it with the Amadeus Quartet who premiered it at The Maltings, Snape, two weeks after the composer’s death. Musicologist Brian Hogwood writes: ‘The third quartet, then, is where Britten officially takes his leave… this is the moment where he gives up his soul, in music of affecting beauty. The last movement ensures he leaves with his head held high, innovating and captivating to the very end.’

MENDELSSOHN: String Quartet in D major Op.44 No.1 [1838]

1. Molto allegro vivace
2. Menuetto: Un poco Allegretto
3. Andante espressivo ma con moto
4. Presto con brio

The 28-year-old Felix Mendelssohn composed his three Opus 44 quartets during a period of great success and happiness in his life and this brilliant D major quartet is ‘decidedly filled with light and joy’ [Misha Amory].