Thursday 19th October 2023 | 7.30pm
Curtis Auditorium, MTU Cork School of Music

Cork cellist Sinead O’Halloran’s remarkable Marmen Quartet returns for a second tour for the Foundation. Their performances of Haydn’s quartets are becoming legendary and they start with his D major quartet Op.33 No.6. At the heart of the concerts lie the first performances of a new quartet by acclaimed Dublin-born composer Garth Knox and they conclude with Janáček’s famously vivid and impassioned story of spiritual love. Garth Knox will introduce his new work.

Presented in association with the National String Quartet Foundation.


€20 (General Admission) | €15 (Concessions & COS standard members)
€10 (COS concessionary members) | €5 (Students)

Buy tickets for Cork Orchestral Society


Haydn – Quartet Op.33 No.6 [1781]
Schubert – Quartetsatz [1820]
Garth KnoxSecret letters [2023]
Janáček – Quartet No.2 Intimate Letters [1928]

† Commissioned by the Marmen Quartet with funds from the Arts Council of Ireland

Marmen Quartet
Johannes Marmen, violin
Laia Braun, violin
Bryony Gibson-Cornish, viola
Sinead O’Halloran, cello