Vanbrugh & Friends Summer Gala Concert

Saturday 8th June 2024 | 7.30pm
Aula Maxima, University College Cork

The Vanbrugh – Keith PascoeSimon Aspell and Christopher Marwoodand a plethora of special guests present the annual Summer Gala Concert in support of the National String Quartet Foundation. Introduced by Evelyn Grant.

Tickets will be available from 10 am, April 1st, including the possibility of booking a limited number of reserved seats in the front section of the Aula.


Premium seating*
| COS members only: €40

General admission
Concessions: €30
| COS members only: €25
Students: €10 
Buy tickets for Cork Orchestral Society
* Limited Premium Seating. Book now to secure your seats in the front section of the Aula Maxima.


Schubert: Quartet in D Minor “Death and the Maiden” – i. Allegro
Shostakovich: Two Pieces for string quartet – i. Elegy & ii. Polka

Lidia Jewloszewicz-Clarke
and Maria Ryan (violin),

Ed Creedon (viola), Aoife Burke (cello)

Vivaldi: Summer from the Four Seasons (arr. Kseniia Yershova)
Myroslav Skoryk: Carpathian Rhapsody (arr. Kseniia Yershova)

Yevlalia Yershova, Olena Yershova, Nataliia Yershova and Kseniia Yershova (violins) and Sofiia Yershov (cello)

Rhiannon Giddens: At the purchaser’s option
Brahms: Quartet in B flat major Op.67 – i. Vivace
Mia Cooper
and Anna Cashell (violin),
Joachim Roewer (viola), William Butt (cello)

Dvořák: String Quintet Op.97 “American” – i. Allegro non tanto
Mia Cooper and Megan Chan (violin),
Joachim Roewer
and Ali Comerford (viola),
Aoife Burke

Brahms: String Sextet in G major Op.36 – i. Allegro non troppo
Maria Ryan and Marja Gaynor (violin), Ed Creedon and Cian O Duill (viola),
William Butt and Maria O’Connor (cello)

Mendelssohn: String Octet in E flat major, Op.20 – i. Allegro moderato ma con fuoco
Mia Cooper, Anna Jansson, Ellen O’Connell and Cillian Ó Cathasaigh (violin),
Simon Aspell
and Kseniia Yershova (viola),
Christopher Marwood and Alina Obreja (cello)